Automatic Cat Feeder with Portion Control: Grams per Portion
Affiliate linksWe earn a commission if you buy through our Amazon links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we recommend. How this works
The short answer
A portion-control feeder drops a set scoop of kibble, about 6 to 10 grams on most models, as often as you schedule. It can help a weight-loss plan: in a 2022 study, overweight cats were likelier to reach a healthy body condition with one. Your vet, not the feeder, should set the daily amount.
How much food is one portion?
About 6 to 10 grams of kibble on most feeders here. Portions are measured by volume, so the weight depends on your food's size and shape. PETLIBRO says a portion is 10.4 to 20 ml, depending on the model.
| Feeder and price | Portion size | Meals a day | Capacity | App |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| VOLUAS Automatic Feeder (4 L) $41.79amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCAmazon | About 6 g | Up to 4 | 4 L | No app needed |
| VOLUAS Smart Feeder for 2 Pets $46.79amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCAmazon | About 6 g | Up to 4 | 6 L | No app needed |
| IMIPAW 6-Meal Programmable Feeder (3 L) $29.99amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCAmazon | About 7 g | Up to 6 | 3 L | No app needed |
| oneisall H1-C Feeder with Cameras for Two Cats $99.99amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCAmazon | About 7 g | Up to 10 | 5 L | Wi-Fi app (2.4 and 5 GHz) |
| Vacqueen 6 L Wi-Fi Feeder for 3 Cats $69.99amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCAmazon | About 8 g | Not stated by the brand | 6 L | Wi-Fi app |
| Pawsync Smart Pet Feeder $69.99amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCAmazon | About 9.1 g | Not stated by the brand | 3.6 L | Wi-Fi app |
| PETLIBRO Granary Smart Feeder (Wi-Fi, 5 L) $89.99amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCAmazon | About 10 g | Up to 10 | 5 L | Wi-Fi app (2.4 and 5 GHz) |
| PETKIT Fresh Element Solo $62.99amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCAmazon | About 10 g | Not stated by the brand | 3 L | Wi-Fi app |
| oneisall 5 L Feeder for 2 Cats $49.99amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCAmazon | About 10 g | Up to 6 | 5 L | No app needed |
| HoneyGuardian RFID Smart Feeder $123.49amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCAmazon | About 10 g | Up to 10 | 4.6 L | Wi-Fi app |
| PawsPik Microchip Pet Feeder $249.99amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCAmazon | About 10 g | Up to 10 | 3.85 L | Wi-Fi app |
| PETLIBRO Granary 2 Smart Feeder $119.99amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCAmazon | About 10 g | Not stated by the brand | 5 L | Wi-Fi app (2.4 and 5 GHz) |
What each brand says about its portions:
- VOLUAS Automatic Feeder 4 L: about 6 to 7 g. VOLUAS says a portion is a setting, not a fixed weight.
- IMIPAW 6-Meal Feeder: about 7 to 9 g per serving.
- oneisall H1-C: about 7 g per bowl; four portions made 29 g in oneisall's own check.
- Vacqueen 3-cat feeder: about 8 to 10 g, varying with the kibble.
- Pawsync Smart Pet Feeder: about 9.1 g. The app can set custom gram amounts, and a scale under the bowl tracks what's eaten.
- PETLIBRO Granary Smart Feeder, PETKIT Fresh Element Solo and oneisall's 5 L for two cats: about 10 g per portion.
- HoneyGuardian SF35: about 10 g, but actual weight can vary by 2 to 3 g.
- PawsPik: the smallest setting is 1/8 cup, about 10 g, and portions may vary by up to 10%.
PETLIBRO's button-set 3 L Granary uses the same 20 ml portion. Neakasa's Riko serves 1 to 15 g within 1 g, but only freeze-dried food.
How much should my cat eat each day?
There's no single number; your vet sets it. The AAHA's 2021 guidelines say a feeding plan should name the diet, amount, meal frequency and treat allowance. For weight loss, vets base the calories on the cat's ideal weight, then adjust.
Cornell's Feline Health Center says to ask your vet to help set your cat's ideal body weight. It suggests treats stay within 10 to 15% of daily calories, and AAHA puts all extras at 10% or less.
On meal count, Cornell says once or twice a day suits most adult cats, and kittens do best on three meals until six months. The AAFP recommends splitting the daily allowance into several small meals across 24 hours.
How do I turn the vet's target into portions?
Weigh the food rather than trusting the scoop. Tufts veterinary nutritionists say measuring by volume often leads to under- or overfeeding. Cats need small amounts, which are hard to measure that way.
Get a daily target in grams
Ask your vet for a daily amount of your cat's food. Tufts suggests converting calories to grams using the calories per gram on the bag.Weigh ten portions
Dispense ten portions, weigh them on a kitchen scale and divide by ten. That is your real portion weight with your kibble.Divide and schedule
Divide the daily grams by the portion weight. Spread those portions across the day's meals.Recheck with your vet
AAHA suggests weigh-ins 4 to 8 weeks apart, with portions adjusted as needed.
Will an automatic feeder help my cat lose weight?
It can, alongside a vet-set plan. In a 2022 study, 23 overweight cats in multi-cat homes followed a weight-loss plan for up to six months. In that study, cats fed from a pet-separating automatic feeder were more likely to reach a healthy body condition than cats fed from bowls.
- With the feeder at six meals a day, 83.2% reached the target body condition score. At two meals it was 40%, and none of the bowl-fed cats did.
- Six meals a day didn't make weight loss faster than two.
- Owners found the plan easier with the feeders and reported fewer of some food-seeking behaviours.
The AAHA guidelines also call automated feeders useful to control food access and amount. To compare that with a gravity feeder, see gravity vs automatic feeders.
In a multi-cat home, the study's feeder kept each cat to its own food. Hybrids such as PawsPik and PETLIBRO's One RFID dispense timed meals and open only for one paired cat, so each cat needs its own.
See feeders that open only for registered cats (7 feeders)
Questions owners ask
How much food is one portion on an automatic feeder?
It varies by brand, roughly 6 to 10 g of kibble per portion. Portions are measured by volume, so the weight depends on your food. PETLIBRO lists 10.4 to 20 ml per portion depending on the model, VOLUAS says about 6 to 7 g, and PETKIT says about 10 g for its Fresh Element Solo. HoneyGuardian notes actual weight can vary by 2 to 3 g. Weigh a few test portions of your cat's food on a kitchen scale before setting meals.
Sources: PETLIBRO; VOLUAS; PETKIT; HONEYGUARDIAN
Will an automatic feeder help my cat lose weight?
It can help, but only alongside a vet-set calorie target. The AAHA's 2021 nutrition guidelines call automated feeders useful for controlling food access and amount, and a small 2022 study found cats in multi-cat homes were more likely to reach a healthy body condition with pet-separating automatic feeders than with bowls. The feeder doesn't decide how much to feed: Cornell advises vet-supervised loss of about 1 to 2 percent of body weight per week, as crash diets risk liver disease.
Sources: American Animal Hospital Association (PDF hosted by the Canadian Veterinary Medical Association); PubMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine); Cornell Feline Health Center, Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine
How many meals a day should an automatic feeder give my cat?
Usually two or more, split from the same daily total; there's no single right number. Cornell's Feline Health Center says once or twice a day suits most adult cats, and kittens under six months do best on three meals. The AAFP's feeding consensus recommends splitting the daily allowance into multiple small meals across 24 hours. Evidence on more meals is mixed: cats fed four meals were more active than cats fed once, but six meals didn't speed weight loss compared with two.
Sources: Cornell Feline Health Center, Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine; AAFP consensus statement, Journal of Feline Medicine and Surgery (PMC); PubMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine); PubMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine)
Sources
- What Is the Amount in One Feeding Portion?, PETLIBRO
- Granary Automatic Cat Feeder with WiFi App Control (PLAF103), PETLIBRO
- Granary 2 Smart Feeder, PETLIBRO
- One RFID Pet Feeder, PETLIBRO
- FAQ, VOLUAS
- VOLUAS Automatic Pet Feeder User Guide, VOLUAS
- VOLUAS Smart 2 Pets Feeder User Guide, VOLUAS
- 6-Meal Programmable Food Dispenser, IMIPAW
- H1-C Feeder with Cameras for Two Cats (PF11) User Manual, oneisall
- 5L Automatic Cat Feeder for 2 Cats (PFD-002) User Manual, oneisall
- Automatic Cat Feeder for 3 Cats, 6L WiFi, Vacqueen
- Smart Pet Feeder, Pawsync
- Smart Pet Feeder (PPF-R361S) User Manual, Pawsync
- Fresh Element Solo, PETKIT
- RFID Smart Pet Feeder (SF35), HONEYGUARDIAN
- Microchip Pet Feeder, PawsPik
- PawsPik Microchip Feeder Manual, PawsPik
- Riko Fresh-Made Wet Meal Feeder, Neakasa
- 2021 AAHA Nutrition and Weight Management Guidelines for Dogs and Cats (Cline et al., JAAHA 2021;57:153-178), American Animal Hospital Association (PDF hosted by the Canadian Veterinary Medical Association)
- Feeding Your Cat, Cornell Feline Health Center, Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine
- How often should you feed your cat?, Cornell Feline Health Center, Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine
- Obesity, Cornell Feline Health Center, Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine
- Feline feeding programs: addressing behavioural needs to improve feline health and wellbeing (Sadek et al., J Feline Med Surg 2018;20:1049-1055), AAFP consensus statement, Journal of Feline Medicine and Surgery (PMC)
- Should You Be Weighing Your Pet's Food?, Petfoodology, Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine at Tufts University
- Evaluation of a pet-separating automatic feeder and high-frequency meal feeding for weight loss in multi-cat households (Witzel-Rollins et al., J Feline Med Surg 2022), PubMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine)