Buying guide

Best Automatic Cat Feeder for Each Need, From Brand Specs

Affiliate linksWe earn a commission if you buy through our Amazon links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we recommend. How this works

The short answer

Each pick here fits one need. For a prescription-diet cat among other cats, use the PawsPik Microchip Pet Feeder, which opens only for that cat's chip or tag. Register the other cats on a SureFeed, which stores up to 32 pets, so the diet cat can't eat their food. For wet food, pick PetSafe FreshFeed.

How were these feeders picked?

Each pick meets one need on specs checked against the brand's own page or manual. Claims made only in a store listing don't count. There's no overall ranking, because the right feeder for a chipped cat on a diet is the wrong one for wet food.

Which feeder fits each need?

One cat on a prescription diet: PawsPik Microchip Pet Feeder

Timed + registered pets onlyPawsPik Microchip Pet Feeder

PawsPik Microchip Pet Feeder

Why it fits: it schedules up to 10 dry meals a day and opens only for one paired pet's ISO chip or tag.

Recognises your cat by
Implanted microchip or Collar tag
Microchip standard
15-digit ISO (FDX-B) only
Food
Dry
Capacity
3.85 L
Portion size
About 10 g
$249.99amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCSee it on Amazon

It pairs with only one pet, so it holds the diet food alone. The other cats' food goes in a second selective feeder, such as the SureFeed below, so the diet cat can't eat it either.

It reads only 15-digit ISO FDX-B chips. To find out which type your cat has, see the microchip feeder guide. On backup batteries it keeps feeding, but the door stops checking who's eating.

Several cats sharing one feeder: SureFeed Microchip Pet Feeder

Registered pets onlySureFeed Microchip Pet Feeder

SureFeed Microchip Pet Feeder

Why it fits: Sure Petcare says it reads all ID microchips and stores up to 32 pets, so cats on the same food can share one.

Recognises your cat by
Implanted microchip or Collar tag
Microchip standard
All ID microchips, the brand says
Pets it can register
Up to 32, all able to open it
Food
Dry, Wet
Capacity
0.4 L
$169.99amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCSee it on Amazon

Every cat registered on it can open it, so it won't keep diets apart on its own. In a home with a diet cat, register only the other cats here and give the diet cat its own feeder. Sure Petcare's manual goes further and recommends each pet has its own feeder for correct control of individual diets.

How many feeders do you need? One cat on a diet plus two others: two feeders. Register the diet cat on one and the other two on the other. With one-pet feeders such as PawsPik or PETLIBRO's One RFID, that's three feeders.

It has no timer, so you fill the bowl yourself. No feeder is a perfect lock: Sure Petcare says it can't guarantee every other pet is kept out. To weigh it against ePawDen's chip feeder, read SureFeed vs ePawDen.

A collar tag instead of a chip reader: PETLIBRO One RFID

Timed + registered pets onlyPETLIBRO One RFID Pet Feeder

PETLIBRO One RFID Pet Feeder

Why it fits: its lid opens only for the cat wearing the paired PETLIBRO tag, and it schedules up to 10 dry meals daily.

Recognises your cat by
Collar tag
Microchip standard
Doesn't read implanted chips
Pets it can register
1 pet, so one feeder per cat
Food
Dry
Capacity
3 L
$139.99amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCSee it on Amazon

It can't read implanted microchips, and each feeder pairs with one tag, so plan on one feeder per cat. See the PETLIBRO One RFID specs.

Wet food kept cold: PetSafe FreshFeed

Timed dispenserPetSafe FreshFeed Refrigerated Pet Feeder

PetSafe FreshFeed Refrigerated Pet Feeder

Why it fits: PetSafe says it keeps food at 40°F when used as directed, the FDA's fridge setting, across a six-meal rotating tray.

Food
Dry, Wet, Raw
Meals a day
Up to 6
Power
Mains only
App
Wi-Fi app
Keeps food cool
Active cooling
$263.17amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCSee it on Amazon

It runs on mains power, and PetSafe mentions no battery backup. Any pet can eat once a compartment opens. For how cooled trays compare with fridge temperature, read the wet food feeder guide.

See feeders that take wet food (13 feeders)

A large hopper for a long day: Nityers QQ21 8 L

Timed dispenserNityers QQ21 8 L Feeder

Nityers QQ21 8 L Feeder

Why it fits: its 8 L hopper is the largest checked here, with up to 6 meals a day and AA battery backup.

Capacity
8 L
Meals a day
Up to 6
Power
Mains with battery backup
App
No app needed
Camera
No
$55.99amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCSee it on Amazon

It's set on an LCD with no app, and Nityers doesn't state its portion weight. See the Nityers QQ21 specs. For an app, PETLIBRO's 5 L Granary Smart Feeder schedules up to 10 meals.

Two cats sharing: oneisall 5 L Feeder for 2 Cats

Timed dispenseroneisall 5 L Feeder for 2 Cats

oneisall 5 L Feeder for 2 Cats

Why it fits: it splits each meal between two stainless bowls, about 10 g a portion each, up to 6 times a day.

Pets it can register
Up to 2, all able to open it
Food
Dry
Capacity
5 L
Portion size
About 10 g
Meals a day
Up to 6
$49.99amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCSee it on Amazon

It can't tell the cats apart, so a faster eater can take both shares. See the oneisall 5 L specs. If one cat eats the other's share, read how to feed two or more cats automatically.

Watching meals on camera: PETLIBRO Granary 2 Vision

Timed dispenserPETLIBRO Granary 2 Vision Smart Feeder

PETLIBRO Granary 2 Vision Smart Feeder

Why it fits: a 1080p night-vision camera, a built-in scale, and a backup battery that keeps the camera running about 48 hours.

Food
Dry
Capacity
5 L
Portion size
About 10 g
Power
Mains with battery backup
App
Wi-Fi app (2.4 and 5 GHz)
$199.99amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCSee it on Amazon

Recording needs PETLIBRO's Video Cloud subscription, and it takes dry food only.

See every feeder with a camera (8 feeders)

Simple, with no Wi-Fi: VOLUAS Automatic Feeder 4 L

Timed dispenserVOLUAS Automatic Feeder (4 L)

VOLUAS Automatic Feeder (4 L)

Why it fits: it's set on its own LCD with no app, drops about 6 to 7 g a portion and has D-cell backup.

Food
Dry
Capacity
4 L
Portion size
About 6 g
Meals a day
Up to 4
Power
Mains with battery backup
$41.79amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCSee it on Amazon

It's limited to four meals a day. See the VOLUAS 4 L specs. Still deciding between timed meals and a gravity feeder? Read gravity vs automatic feeders.

Rechargeable, no cables: iPettie Donut Frost

Timed dispenseriPettie Donut Frost Feeder (Wi-Fi)

iPettie Donut Frost Feeder (Wi-Fi)

Why it fits: a built-in rechargeable battery runs it cordless, and its six 200 ml compartments take wet or dry food with ice packs.

Food
Dry, Wet
Capacity
1.2 L
Portion size
About 85 g
Meals a day
Up to 6
Power
Rechargeable battery
$99.99amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCSee it on Amazon

iPettie doesn't state how long a charge or its ice packs last. Vancpet, for one, says ice packs keep wet food cooler only for short routines.

Portions for a weight-loss plan: Pawsync Smart Pet Feeder

Timed dispenserPawsync Smart Pet Feeder

Pawsync Smart Pet Feeder

Why it fits: portions of about 9.1 g, custom gram amounts in the app, and a scale under the bowl that tracks eating.

Food
Dry
Capacity
3.6 L
Portion size
About 9.1 g
Power
Mains with battery backup
App
Wi-Fi app
$69.99amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCSee it on Amazon

It takes dry food only. Your vet should set the daily target. The portion-control feeder guide shows how to turn that target into portions.

How do the picks compare?

Feeder and priceRecognises your cat byFoodCapacityMeals a day
PawsPik Microchip Pet Feeder
$249.99amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCAmazon
Implanted microchip or Collar tagDry3.85 LUp to 10
SureFeed Microchip Pet Feeder
$169.99amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCAmazon
Implanted microchip or Collar tagDry, Wet0.4 LNot stated by the brand
PETLIBRO One RFID Pet Feeder
$139.99amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCAmazon
Collar tagDry3 LUp to 10
PetSafe FreshFeed Refrigerated Pet Feeder
$263.17amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCAmazon
Not stated by the brandDry, Wet, RawNot stated by the brandUp to 6
Nityers QQ21 8 L Feeder
$55.99amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCAmazon
Not stated by the brandNot stated by the brand8 LUp to 6
oneisall 5 L Feeder for 2 Cats
$49.99amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCAmazon
Not stated by the brandDry5 LUp to 6
PETLIBRO Granary 2 Vision Smart Feeder
$199.99amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCAmazon
Not stated by the brandDry5 LNot stated by the brand
VOLUAS Automatic Feeder (4 L)
$41.79amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCAmazon
Not stated by the brandDry4 LUp to 4
iPettie Donut Frost Feeder (Wi-Fi)
$99.99amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCAmazon
Not stated by the brandDry, Wet1.2 LUp to 6
Pawsync Smart Pet Feeder
$69.99amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCAmazon
Not stated by the brandDry3.6 LNot stated by the brand

What should you check before buying?

  1. Your cat's microchip

    PawsPik and ePawDen read only 15-digit ISO FDX-B chips. PETLIBRO's One RFID, HoneyGuardian and Vancpet read collar tags only.
  2. Your cat's food

    Most kibble hoppers are dry only, as PETLIBRO, VOLUAS and PawsPik say of theirs. Wet food needs a tray or a sealed bowl.
  3. What happens in a power cut

    Backup batteries are often sold separately, and some features switch off on them. PawsPik keeps feeding but stops reading chips.
  4. Who checks on your cat

    Sure Petcare says not to rely on its feeder for more than 24 hours. Cornell warns a day without eating can seriously harm an adult cat.

Some features add running costs, such as batteries, hubs and cloud plans. The feeder price guide lists what each brand discloses.

See feeders that open only for registered cats (7 feeders)

Questions owners ask

Is an automatic cat feeder worth it?

Often, if you need portion control, meals at set times or feeding while you're out, but a feeder isn't essential. The AAHA's 2021 guidelines call automated feeders useful for controlling food access and amount, and the AAFP says feeding programs can include them. Cornell says once- or twice-daily meals suit most adult cats, so a feeder adds less if you're home at mealtimes. Weigh the benefit against cleaning, refilling and still needing someone to check on your cat daily.

Sources: American Animal Hospital Association (PDF hosted by the Canadian Veterinary Medical Association); American Association of Feline Practitioners (FelineVMA); Cornell Feline Health Center, Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine; Sure Petcare; Cornell Feline Health Center, Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine

Are automatic cat feeders safe?

Yes for most cats, when used as the brand directs and checked daily. Veterinary groups including the AAHA and AAFP list automatic feeders as useful tools. The main risks are food safety and over-reliance: use only the food type a feeder is built for, since many dispensers are dry-only, and wash bowls regularly as the FDA advises. Sure Petcare also warns about small parts around children and pets and recommends a breakaway safety collar for cats using a tag.

Sources: American Animal Hospital Association (PDF hosted by the Canadian Veterinary Medical Association); American Association of Feline Practitioners (FelineVMA); PETLIBRO; VOLUAS; U.S. Food and Drug Administration; Sure Petcare

How long do automatic cat feeders last?

Brands don't publish expected lifespans, so the warranty is the only firm guide. For the models checked, warranties run from one to three years: PETKIT gives one year on its Fresh Element Solo, PETLIBRO and oneisall give two years on their Granary and 5 L feeders, and Sure Petcare gives three years on its SureFeed Microchip Pet Feeder. Consumables wear out sooner, such as batteries, which Sure Petcare rates at about six months, and desiccant packs.

Sources: PETKIT; PETLIBRO; oneisall; Sure Petcare; Sure Petcare

How much does an automatic cat feeder cost?

It depends on the type and features, and prices change too often to quote, so check the brand's current price. Also budget for running costs. Sure Petcare's Connect needs a Hub sold separately, its feeders take four C batteries lasting about six months, and extra collar tags are sold separately. PETLIBRO's backup D batteries aren't included, it suggests a new desiccant bag every two weeks, and cloud video on its camera feeder is a paid subscription.

Sources: Sure Petcare; Sure Petcare; Sure Petcare; PETLIBRO; PETLIBRO

Sources

  1. Microchip Pet Feeder, PawsPik
  2. PawsPik Microchip Feeder Manual, PawsPik
  3. SureFeed Microchip Pet Feeder, Sure Petcare
  4. Microchip Pet Feeder User Manual, Sure Petcare
  5. One RFID Pet Feeder, PETLIBRO
  6. FreshFeed Refrigerated Pet Feeder, PetSafe
  7. Tips for Safe Handling of Pet Food and Treats, U.S. Food and Drug Administration
  8. QQ21 Basic 8L Automatic Pet Feeder, Nityers
  9. Granary Automatic Cat Feeder with WiFi App Control (PLAF103), PETLIBRO
  10. oneisall 5L Automatic Cat Feeder for 2 Cats, oneisall
  11. 5L Automatic Cat Feeder for 2 Cats (PFD-002) User Manual, oneisall
  12. Granary 2 Vision Smart Feeder, PETLIBRO
  13. VOLUAS Automatic Feeder 4L, VOLUAS
  14. VOLUAS Automatic Pet Feeder User Guide, VOLUAS
  15. FAQ, VOLUAS
  16. Donut Frost Automatic Pet Feeder, WiFi Version, iPettie
  17. Donut Frost WiFi User Manual, iPettie
  18. Smart Pet Feeder, Pawsync
  19. Smart Pet Feeder (PPF-R361S) User Manual, Pawsync
  20. FAQ, ePawDen (PAWDEN ROBOTICS LIMITED)
  21. RFID Smart Pet Feeder (SF35), HONEYGUARDIAN
  22. RFID Collar Cat Feeder for Multi-Cat Homes (VC009), Vancpet
  23. Anorexia, Cornell Feline Health Center, Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine