Automatic Cat Feeder Price: Cheap Models and Running Costs
Affiliate linksWe earn a commission if you buy through our Amazon links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we recommend. How this works
The short answer
An automatic cat feeder's price mostly follows its type. A basic timed dispenser has the least hardware, while chip readers, cooling and cameras each add parts. Prices change too often to quote, so the tables below show live prices. Budget for running costs too: batteries, desiccant packs, collar tags, a hub or a camera cloud plan.
The running costs below come from brands' own manuals and product pages. First, here's what each type of feeder adds.
What makes one automatic feeder cost more than another?
Each type adds hardware:
- Basic timed feeder: releases meals on a schedule. PetSafe's Automatic 2 Meal feeder uses dial timers and one AA battery. PETLIBRO's button-set 3 L Granary needs no app.
- Wi-Fi dispenser: adds app scheduling, as on PETLIBRO's Granary Smart Feeder and oneisall's PFD-001 Pro. The Granary 2 adds a bowl scale and a built-in backup battery.
- Selective feeder: a lid opens only for a registered microchip or collar tag. Sure Petcare's SureFeed has no timer, so you fill the bowl yourself.
- Hybrid: timed portions plus a lid for one cat. PawsPik's feeder reads ISO FDX-B microchips, while PETLIBRO's One RFID reads only its own collar tag.
- Cooled wet-food tray: a powered cooler keeps meals cold. PetSafe says its FreshFeed holds food at about 40°F, while iPettie's Donut Frost uses ice packs instead.
- Camera feeder: adds live video. PETLIBRO's Granary 2 Vision has a 1080p night-vision camera and built-in scales.
How do live prices compare by type?
Basic and Wi-Fi timed feeders for dry food:
| Feeder and price | Capacity | Meals a day | App | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PetSafe Automatic 2 Meal Pet Feeder $19.53amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCAmazon | Not stated by the brand | Up to 2 | No app needed | Not stated by the brand |
| IMIPAW 6-Meal Programmable Feeder (3 L) $29.99amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCAmazon | 3 L | Up to 6 | No app needed | Not stated by the brand |
| VOLUAS Automatic Feeder (4 L) $41.79amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCAmazon | 4 L | Up to 4 | No app needed | 12 months |
| oneisall 5 L Feeder for 2 Cats $49.99amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCAmazon | 5 L | Up to 6 | No app needed | 24 months |
| PETLIBRO Granary Automatic Feeder (3 L) $56.69amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCAmazon | 3 L | Up to 6 | No app needed | 12 months |
| oneisall App Automatic Cat Feeder (PFD-001 Pro) $49.99amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCAmazon | 3.5 L | Up to 10 | Wi-Fi app | 24 months |
| PETLIBRO Granary Smart Feeder (Wi-Fi, 5 L) $89.99amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCAmazon | 5 L | Up to 10 | Wi-Fi app (2.4 and 5 GHz) | 24 months |
| PETKIT Fresh Element Solo $62.99amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCAmazon | 3 L | Not stated by the brand | Wi-Fi app | 12 months |
| PETLIBRO Granary 2 Smart Feeder $119.99amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCAmazon | 5 L | Not stated by the brand | Wi-Fi app (2.4 and 5 GHz) | 24 months |
Feeders with chip readers, cooling or cameras:
| Feeder and price | Type | Food | Power | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SureFeed Microchip Pet Feeder $169.99amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCAmazon | Registered pets only | Dry, Wet | Batteries only | 36 months |
| PETLIBRO One RFID Pet Feeder $139.99amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCAmazon | Timed + registered pets only | Dry | Mains with battery backup | 24 months |
| PawsPik Microchip Pet Feeder $249.99amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCAmazon | Timed + registered pets only | Dry | Mains with battery backup | 24 months |
| iPettie Donut Frost Feeder (Wi-Fi) $99.99amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCAmazon | Timed dispenser | Dry, Wet | Rechargeable battery | 12 months |
| PetSafe FreshFeed Refrigerated Pet Feeder $263.17amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCAmazon | Timed dispenser | Dry, Wet, Raw | Mains only | 12 months |
| PETLIBRO Polar Wet Food Feeder $169.99amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCAmazon | Timed dispenser | Wet | Mains with battery backup | 24 months |
| PETLIBRO Granary 2 Vision Smart Feeder $199.99amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCAmazon | Timed dispenser | Dry | Mains with battery backup | 24 months |
| oneisall H1-C Feeder with Cameras for Two Cats $99.99amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCAmazon | Timed dispenser | Dry | Mains with battery backup | 24 months |
| Furdear Europa Smart Wet Food Feeder $289.99amazon.com price as of Oct 15, 10:26 PM UTCAmazon | Timed dispenser | Dry, Wet, Raw | Mains only | 12 months |
See timed feeders that need no app (10 feeders)
What running costs should I budget for?
| Running cost | What the brands say |
|---|---|
| Backup batteries | PETLIBRO's Granary and the VOLUAS 4 L feeder take three D batteries, not included. oneisall's 5 L takes four AA and PawsPik four D, also not included. |
| Main batteries | Sure Petcare's SureFeed runs on four C batteries, not included, rated at about six months. PetSafe's 2 Meal feeder takes one AA, not included. |
| Built-in batteries | PETLIBRO's Granary 2 has a rechargeable backup, so no spare batteries. ePawDen's feeder charges by USB-C and runs about 3 to 6 months per charge. |
| Power adapter | PETKIT says the US Fresh Element Solo comes without its USB adapter, and its five AAA backup batteries are bought separately. |
| Desiccant packs | PETLIBRO suggests a new bag every two weeks, and its Granary 2 Vision uses two at a time. VOLUAS and HoneyGuardian say every 15 days, PawsPik and Pawsync every 30. |
| Hub | Sure Petcare's Connect feeder needs its Hub for the app, and the Hub is sold separately. |
| Collar tags | Sure Petcare includes one tag and sells extras in packs of two. PETLIBRO, PawsPik and HoneyGuardian also sell spare tags separately. |
| Camera plans | PETLIBRO's Granary 2 Vision streams live on the free plan, but recording and playback need a Video Cloud AI subscription. PETKIT's YumShare Solo 2 page says some services may need in-app purchases. |
| Memory card | Furdear says its Europa Pro needs no subscription for core features, but the microSD card isn't included. |
| Electricity | RESPURR quotes about 0.5 kWh a day for its cooled T1-H tray. |
How do I keep the total cost down?
Pay only for features you'll use
A lid that opens only for registered pets matters if another pet steals food. A camera matters if you want to watch meals. Cooling is for wet food.Check what's in the box
Backup batteries are often left out, including by PETLIBRO, VOLUAS, oneisall and PawsPik. PapaPaw's standard box has no ice packs; its larger web bundle includes two.Price the extras before you buy
Check what a camera feeder's free plan covers. For a selective feeder, count a tag for each pet without a chip it can read.Compare warranties
Use the Warranty column in the tables above. Where brands state it, warranties here run from one to three years.
For wet food, see which feeders keep canned food cold. For chip readers, see microchip vs collar-tag feeders.
Questions owners ask
How much does an automatic cat feeder cost?
It depends on the type and features, and prices change too often to quote, so check the brand's current price. Also budget for running costs. Sure Petcare's Connect needs a Hub sold separately, its feeders take four C batteries lasting about six months, and extra collar tags are sold separately. PETLIBRO's backup D batteries aren't included, it suggests a new desiccant bag every two weeks, and cloud video on its camera feeder is a paid subscription.
Sources: Sure Petcare; Sure Petcare; Sure Petcare; PETLIBRO; PETLIBRO
How long do automatic cat feeders last?
Brands don't publish expected lifespans, so the warranty is the only firm guide. For the models checked, warranties run from one to three years: PETKIT gives one year on its Fresh Element Solo, PETLIBRO and oneisall give two years on their Granary and 5 L feeders, and Sure Petcare gives three years on its SureFeed Microchip Pet Feeder. Consumables wear out sooner, such as batteries, which Sure Petcare rates at about six months, and desiccant packs.
Sources: PETKIT; PETLIBRO; oneisall; Sure Petcare; Sure Petcare
Is a feeder with a camera worth it?
It's worth it if you're often away or need to confirm a cat is eating; otherwise a basic feeder does the same job. Cornell warns that loss of appetite can harm an adult cat within 24 hours, so spotting missed meals early matters. PETLIBRO's camera feeder adds 1080p video, night vision and two-way audio, but cloud recording needs a paid subscription, and on battery power the camera and Wi-Fi switch off. An app feeding log, like Sure Petcare's Connect, shows eating without video.
Sources: Cornell Feline Health Center, Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine; PETLIBRO; Sure Petcare
Sources
- Automatic 2 Meal Pet Feeder (PFD00-17004), PetSafe
- Granary Automatic Cat Feeder with WiFi App Control (PLAF103), PETLIBRO
- Granary Automatic Feeder (PLAF005/PLAF006) User Manual, PETLIBRO
- Oneisall 3.5L Automatic Cat Feeder with APP Control (PFD-001 Pro), oneisall
- Granary 2 Smart Feeder, PETLIBRO
- Granary 2 Vision Smart Feeder, PETLIBRO
- SureFeed Microchip Pet Feeder, Sure Petcare
- Microchip Pet Feeder User Manual, Sure Petcare
- Microchip Pet Feeder Connect User Manual, Sure Petcare
- Microchip Pet Feeder, PawsPik
- PawsPik Microchip Feeder Manual, PawsPik
- One RFID Pet Feeder, PETLIBRO
- RFID Smart Pet Feeder (SF35), HONEYGUARDIAN
- SF35 User Manual, HONEYGUARDIAN
- ePawDen Microchip Pet Feeder, ePawDen (PAWDEN ROBOTICS LIMITED)
- FreshFeed Refrigerated Pet Feeder, PetSafe
- Donut Frost Automatic Pet Feeder, WiFi Version, iPettie
- Donut Frost WiFi User Manual, iPettie
- Polar Refrigerated Wet Food Cat Feeder, PETLIBRO
- Automatic Cat Feeder for Wet Food with Semiconductor Cooling (T1-H), RESPURR
- VOLUAS Automatic Pet Feeder User Guide, VOLUAS
- 5L Automatic Cat Feeder for 2 Cats (PFD-002) User Manual, oneisall
- 6-Meal Programmable Food Dispenser, IMIPAW
- Fresh Element Solo, PETKIT
- YumShare Solo 2 Automatic Feeder with Camera, PETKIT
- Warranty Policy, PETKIT
- Smart Pet Feeder, Pawsync
- H1-C Feeder with Cameras for Two Cats (PF11) User Manual, oneisall
- Europa Pro Smart Wet Food Feeder, Furdear
- PapaPaw DietMatch Smart Automatic Cat Feeder for Multi-Cat Homes, PapaPaw